HRH The Duchess of Cambridge

Kate

There was a time when I had nothing but contempt for the woman once known as Kate Middleton. She was the most common of commoners, in my former opinion- the spoiled daughter of nouveau riche parents. I thought that she was a man-eating, calculating scold who had set her cap on the third-in-line to the British throne. I saw her as woman who was hungry for advancement and social status.

It is with pleasure that I report that my opinion of her has done a 180 degree change. Time and again, she has shown herself to be worthy of the title Her Royal Highness through duty and attention that seems to be more of the clothe of her grandmother-in-law, HRH Queen Elizabeth, than that of Diana Spencer. Although I know it is not good to speak ill of the dead, Princess Diana, time has proven, was mentally unstable, spoiled and self-serving. She did everything she could to tear down the monarchy which had so richly rewarded her. While the media portrayed her as a saint and a doting mother, the truth is that she was in fact the self-entitled, calculating social climber, whose misjudgment was the cause of her own death.

That being said, it is funny how the tabloids over the past year have been proclaiming that Kate Middleton is pregnant again! Hooray! Well, I just saw a recent photograph of her on the Telegraph and she by no means looked pregnant.  Given the difficulties she experienced with her first two pregnancies; that is, morning sickness so severe that she had to be hospitalized, I think she would be quite mad to get pregnant so soon after the birth of Princess Charlotte. (I think that they should have made her first name Elizabeth, but I have nieces and nephews with names that are beyond the pale. Parents name their children whatever suits them.)  This media fascination with the Duchess of Cambridge feeds an urgent need among the public to have a young, beautiful woman who represents virtue, duty and an almost god-like status akin to an Earth Mother.

Despite my misgivings about Kate, I woke up at the crack of dawn here on the East Coast of the United States in order to watch her wedding. I love English pageantry. They’ve got it down pat. When I was a young man, I did the same thing when Princess Anne got married, and I’ve never missed a royal wedding to save my life. I love to watch the Queen at the Trooping of the Guards. I saw firsthand when that nut-job fired a starter pistol at her, and she handled her horse with expertise, all the while maintaining her calm. While I was less than impressed by the parade of celebrities who were given access to the wedding of Kate Middleton to Prince William, I thought that the ceremony was beautiful and poignant. I remember how sad Prince Andrew looked, divorced, alone, with two ugly daughters who are clearly no comfort to him in his advancing years.

At any rate, the Duchess of Cambridge has proven herself time and again to be worthy of the role of Queen Consort one day. I’ve seen her standing in the rain, in high heals, out to here pregnant, in order to fulfill her role as a royal. Not a hint of scandal has disgrace her marriage so far. Already at this point in the marriage of Prince Charles and Lady Diana, there were rumors floating about regarding infidelity on both their sides. One has only to look at Prince Harry to wonder, “Who’s that baby’s daddy?” There will be no such questions asked of Kate’s progeny. She carries herself with a regal grace as though born for the job. She dresses tastefully and doesn’t waste her money on silly fads. (Remember Princess Diana’s aromatherapy bill?) She dresses tastefully without ostentation. She lets her own natural beauty shine through. The above picture is from Vogue magazine, courtesy of Getty Images, and I think it proves my point. Good show, Your Grace!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Politics, Sociology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

