The Triumph of Madness

gun rant

Chain post winding its way through Facebook

I believe that high capacity automatic rifles should be banned. Ronald Reagan, a victim of gun violence, was able to push through this legislation, but then, Congress was split between the two parties, Dem’s controlling the House and GOP in the Senate. I’m not 100% sure on this congressional dynamic, but I’m pretty sure Tip O’Neil was Speaker of the House at the time and he was a Democrat. At any rate, their is no sensible reason why people should be able to buy automatic rifles and load them with high-capacity clips. The only reason to have this capability is to either, chop down a tree very loudly, or to kill a lot of people in a short period of time. The same can be said of a nuclear weapon. Yes?

Should every citizen have the right to build a nuclear weapon and carry it about their person? People forget that the Second Amendment begins with the words, “…well regulated…” and it speaks in terms of the need for a militia. Unless you are a member of a “well regulated militia…” then the Second Amendment does not, can not apply to you! The power and influence of the National Rifle Association shocks me. The culture of gun worship in this country right now disturbs me. Right now, a chain message is running its way through Facebook. It talks in the first person about a person standing in line at the grocery store who has a gun concealed under his/her shirt. It pontificates on how if somebody tries to kill the people in the store, they will use their gun to protect the other shoppers and their family. It goes on to say that this person will not die begging for their lives. I don’t need a gun to die with dignity at the hands of gun violence. The odds of that happening are rather astronomical. It’s this kind of gun worship propaganda that is responsible for the laissez-faire attitude among our law makers, who quake at the power of the NRA, and crave their campaign contributions that are leaving our nation prone and victim to the acts of individual nut jobs, like the one who killed all those poor children at Sandy Hook, who by the way was not a Muslim terrorist. 

It is this kind of mad, wild West mentality that is causing our country to descend into a state of anarchy. I think of Cliven Bundy and his stand off a couple of years ago. Using a combination of assault rifles and their own families as human shields, they were able to bully away Federal agents who were simply trying to disarm Bundy, and make him stop grazing his cattle on Federal land. To me this exemplified in stark reality, the ability of a small-group of fanatics who could easily defy Federal authority.  If our central government breaks down, then the United States of America will degenerate into a lawless, broken hodgepodge of lawless autonomous zones where nobody is safe and infrastructure will collapse, leaving what was formally the U.S.A. even more prone to attack from its enemies. Maybe we should all start learning to speak Chinese, or Russian, or Arabic?

Let me conclude by saying that I don’t want anybody standing behind me in the grocery store with a gun under their shirt.  Keep your guns at home.  If you are so afraid to go shopping that you have to carry a gun with you, then I suggest your order your foodstuffs and other items online and have them delivered to your doorstep.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Politics, Rant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Triumph of Madness

  1. mcovaleski says:

    Totally with you on this one. Please keep your guns away from me!

Leave a Reply

