Objectification

Have you seen the Women are not Objects video? If not please check it out. Here is my response. The objectification is not gender-specific. Men are also objectified. Have you seen a Levi’s Jeans, or Calvin Klein commercial recently? Men are also held up as objects. In advertising, they are usually portrayed as buffoons, who if not for the help of their wives, their lives would be a total disaster. Their children treat them with absolute disrespect. There is an unofficially recognized condition that in common parlance is called “manorexia.” The men who suffer from this condition feel inadequate physically, from the size of their muscles to the size of their penises. In this politically correct world in which we now live, men are the ones suffering under a double standard. The idealized man in current media is totally buff, sophisticated, yet also caring, sensitive and able to pull in the big bucks. As a male feminist, I am shocked and disturbed by the double standard that is now being applied to men. Marky Mark and David Beckham pose in underwear to sell cheap underwear, and their is no outcry. Not a single word.Stop crying you self-serving bitches. Gender equality for all! That which diminishes one of us, diminishes all of us. I’m going to copy and past this this rant onto my page Random Thoughts of Russell Smith

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

