Red Jacket (a reference to Rebel Without a Cause)

Oh! Sweet razor blade!
I keep you hidden like a Jew
in Nazi Germany.
The only difference is that you
are my salvation,
rather than the other way around.
I’d like to go like Beethoven,
without hearing a sound,
but feeling the vibrations
of thunder all around,
and thinking of the music that I made,
while I contemplate the silence of the grave.

But no, my life will end with a squeek.
Like a mouse in a a trap, the cry of the weak.
For you, I am but but like a mouse,
looking for a piece of straw to call my house.
And all the lives I have touched with my heart,
mean little or nothing.
So my little, steel-coated friend,
you will be with me at the end.
No more rhymes, no more meaning.
It’s all just dust and blood.

Russell Smith, July 2015

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

