Murder in Baltimore

Just a few weeks ago, I moved to Baltimore, Maryland which is know as Charm City. I subscribed to the newspaper, the Baltimore Sun within a few days of moving here. I read it cover to cover every day. There are a lot of interesting stories about politics, sports, local events and coupons. It’s nice to live in a city that has a real newspaper. Baltimore is a beautiful city, rich in culture and history. They mayor seems like a competent woman, trying to do her best in a bad situation.

What worries me is the unbelievable murder rate in Baltimore. I lived in Washington, D.C. in the mid- to late- 1980’s. At that time, D.C. was called the “Murder Capitol.” I think this crown should now be worn by Baltimore. Here is a blurb from today’s (Sunday’s) paper:

HEADLINE: MAN FOUND FATALLY SHOT IN EAST BALTIMORE

“A man was found fatally shot in an industrial area of East Baltimore on Saturday afternoon, one of several shootings in the city in the past two days.” The story continues, “Two other men were shot in separate incidents in Baltimore late Friday night and Saturday morning, though both were expected to survive their injuries.” Further, “…an 18 year old man was found shot in the back… in East Baltimore.” And then, “Around 5:20 a.m. Saturday, a man walked into a Baltimore hospital with multiple wounds, including to the chest.” But wait! There’s more! “Police also identified a man Saturday who was fatally stabbed … He is Jerome Marlowe, 73, and lived a block from where he was stabbed.”

Baltimore needs help! It is already infamous for its heroin market. About a week ago, a three-year-old girl was mortally wounded by a stray bullet. Luckily, I live in a quiet neighborhood. It’s great! I live five minutes from the Jones Falls Parkway, a major artery through the city. My neighbors seem, for the most part, to be hard-working, middle-class people. There are trees. But what about the thousands of people who are trapped in crime-ridden neighborhoods? My suggestion is that the mayor of Baltimore request a Federal task force to address the rampant violence that is plaguing this city. We also need an influx of private investment into Baltimore that will provide people with jobs and hope.

God bless Baltimore! May He hear the cries of the victims of violence and provide them with solace. 

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

