Outrage in Florida

It is with disgust that I comment on last night’s verdict in the George Zimmerman trial. I guess the defense won the case by keeping the jury all white, except for one Hispanic. If a Black woman had been on that jury, Zimmerman would not have been acquitted. It probably would have been a hung jury. I followed the trial closely via Nancy (Crazy Woman) Grace, MSNBC and BBC News. It is obvious to me that Zimmerman stalked Trayvon Martin, profiling him as an undesirable Black youth, then confronted him. Trayvon defended himself and got the better of that obese racist. In retaliation, Zimmerman shot him. Have you seen the photo of Trayvon’s dead body, staring blankly into the sky, flat on his back? Anybody with sense or sensibility who saw that photograph would know that Zimmerman is a murderer- a cold blooded murderer. Look for copy-cat murders in the not too distant future. How many White men will get away with it? If the shoe had been on the other foot; that is, if a Black man had shot and killed a White youth in Florida, there wouldn’t even have been a trial. The man’s attorney would have talked him into pleading guilty to manslaughter and he would have been sent away for a decade or more.

Florida, the state that can’t even run an election properly, shows no justice to Black people. Thirty-one point five percent of all inmates in Florida prisons are black. Yet they make up only sixteen point six percent of the population. Does that mean Black’s are more prone to crime than other racial groups? I think not. I think that the system in Florida, as elsewhere in the U.S., is weighted against Blacks because they do not have the economic resources to fight charges in court. They are pressured by their over-burdened public defenders to plead guilty to lesser charges in order to expedite the over-burdened judicial system. My answer is to pour more money into public defenders. Pay them more money and hire more of them. I watched an HBO documentary called Gideon’s Army. It was a real eye-opener. It showed watch public defenders in the South have to contend with: case loads of over a hundred clients at a single time, no economic resources to pay for expert witnesses and minimal pay that barely gives them a living. Most who enter the public defender’s office quit after a couple of years because of burn-out and low pay.

George Zimmerman’s father was a magistrate in Virginia. Obviously his father had the connections to hire him the best attorney’s money could buy. George Zimmerman is a wannabe cop. He was taking a Criminal Justice class at the local community college at the time of the shooting. He obviously knew about Florida’s ridiculous Stand Your Ground law. That means that you don’t have to retreat if you feel your life is in danger. You can just blow somebody’s head off if you feel threatened. Nice work, Florida. I hope an earthquake causes your state to separate from the mainland and that you drift out to sea. I hope that tsunamis devastate your land. I hope the Everglades overtake your entire state. I hope every Floridian gets bitten a million times by mosquitoes. I wish a thousand plagues on Florida.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Rant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outrage in Florida

  1. Gator Woman says:

    You cannot imagine how difficult it is to live here and deal with all of the things that you have addressed so eloquently.
    Thank you Russell.

Leave a Reply

