End of the World

It’s hard not to think that it’s the end of the world when “nearly 70 percent of deep sea Arctic creatures are in contact with human trash like plastic bags and beer bottles.” It makes me terribly sad for these poor hapless creatures. Now that they are talking about opening summer shipping lanes through the North Pole. How can one not think of end times after storms like that one in the Nineties that chewed up Oklahoma City, Hurricane Andrew, Hurricane Katrina, now Sandy. I was in Pennsylvania visiting my mother when the remnants of Sandy moved through town. I woke up at two in the morning listening to the howling winds, feeling the house shake. What lies in the future? A warmer Earth even than now. And what will that bring? Only greater storms, and other things besides, mass extinction, new emergent diseases, mutations. It’s a ghastly scenario.

http://www.google.com/#m_115, referenced 11/4/2012.
http://www.economist.com/blogs/dailychart/2011/09/melting-arctic-sea-ice-and-shipping-routes

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of the World

  1. Mimi says:

    I’m amazed when I meet people who still believe that people are over-reacting about “global warming.” It frightens me that they can be so ignorant of reality. I’m afraid that we’re past the point of being able to reverse the trend. I can’t imagine what our world will be like in the future. I met a Native American who told me that we’d abused Mother Earth to point that she was whiping humans off of her face. Maybe so…

Leave a Reply

