R.I.P. Muammor Gaddafi

Image from Wikipedia

Today they dumped the dictator’s body somewhere in the vast Lybian dessert, to be mummified and discovered by alien archeologists some time 500 million years from now. They are going to ask themselves, “Why did someone shove a stick in his butt?” The Global Post has it all for you to see at this address.

Not a pleasant way to die, that’s for sure, but does it atone for all the murder and torture and bizarre buffoonery? No. He should have been kept alive and tried before a court of law, preferably at the International Court at the Hague. There the world could revel over his, as one journalist put it, “ham-fisted plastic surgery.” When you look at the pictures of him as a twenty-seven year old leader of a bloodless coup that kicked out the British backed King Idris, you can’t help but admire his sheik in an army suit handsomeness. He went from that to lump-faced creature with the world’s largest collection of toupés. He also became the mastermind behind many acts of brutal assassination, mass murder, judicial murder, torture and the ever-popular, crimes against humanity. He should have been left to rot the last of his days in a plexiglass cage, eating vegetarian fare and drinking rice milk. Now he’s off the hook. He may even reach martyr status for the tribe in which he was born. I don’t know the name of the tribe, but they wanted his body for burial.

If I were Assad, I’d be sweating bullets right now. If the military turns against him as a way of ridding themselves of culpability in the massacre of thousands, then he is toast. To quote Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, “Assad’s days are numbered.” I’d be packing my bags for a quick trip to Saudi Arabia, where they will give you shelter, probably a spare palace somewhere out in the desert. If he’s smart, he’ll do it. After what happened to Gaddafi, you can’t just blame the U.S., even thought NATO, an arm of the U.S. military, assisted the rebels; that is, crushed Muammor for them with persistent airstrikes. Gaddafi should have fled the minute NATO got into the picture. But these guys never show good judgement. They’ve found it so easy to crush their opponents in the past that they think the U.S. is a paper tiger.

Obama should be given high marks for his handling of the Libyan civil war. He made sure that American involvement was multinational (they say it was a French plane that struck Gaddafi’s convoy as it tried to flee Sirte.) Obama is keeping a campaign promise by getting our boys and girls out of Iraq by years end. He deserves kudos for that as well, though it’s been a long time coming. I can’t wait to see the bloodbath that emerges after Iran sets up a puppet government in Iraq. Then they will be just a hop and a skip away from the Mediterranean Sea, their long-held dream since ancient times. Who-boy! I think I see a third world war on the horizon. You heard it hear first.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in History, War and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

