The Heat

Why and how did I end up in Los Angeles? I should be in Seattle, or better yet, London. I am at home with umbrellas and galoshes, fancy raincoats and groovy or severe hats. Hats. Hats. HATS! For men and women, headwear used to be a necessity for rich or poor, covering for the head. Nowadays, the majority of hats are baseball caps. Blech! So you support the home team. Big fucking deal. Do you have to be a walking logo? For children the rules are different. Where your hat with the number of your favorite player in the colors of your favorite sports team.

But I digress. This heat is crushing me. I know it’s not as bad as some places like Washington, D.C. or Central Pennsylvania or Northern New Jersey, but it’s still so hot I have to run the air in the middle of the day. God help me if I am forced to go out.

Speaking of which, I am so mad at my doctor. First he reschedules my appointment so I have to wait another 2 or 3 weeks. Then he orders lab tests. Then it takes 11 days for him to get back to me about the lab tests and he tells me that he’s gonna call the pharmacy and give them a prescription for me. Well, he gets the dosages wrong. It only comes in certain specific dosages and he can’t just say give him 10 cc’s. So then he has to straighten that out. I go to pick up the medicine and it turns out that he still doesn’t have it right! I call his office on Friday afternoon. Yeah, right. Tomorrow I plan to call and burn someone’s butt off the phone. Make them go in the back room and cry, male or female I will reduce you to tears! I am talking trash now, but tomorrow I will be as servile as anyone from the Byzantine Court. Ya get more with sugar than with vinegar. Sometimes people like salt.

 

Ghetto Bird’s Acallin’


The heat has even driven the coyotes mad. Click and listen.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Nature, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

