Live and Learn

Doodle your way to the sublime!

There is a term for talking to yourself. The source is Wikipedia, (sigh) but the phrase is intrapersonal communication. It makes perfect sense. “Intra” means internal and communication can be defined as talking. There is also a definition in the Urban Dictionary. What about doodling? Drawing is a form of communication. When one doodles, one allows their subconscious to take over, in a sense. Of course, one must assume that the doodler is absolutely absorbed in his work. I think doodling can cause a person of average intelligence and average artistic ability to ascend to new heights of creativity. I worked in a phone bank in the Nineteen Eighties. I’m reluctant to admit that I was raising money for Citizens for Reagan and the Fund for a Conservative Majority. I had a heavy construction board desk blotter for my own personal cubby and during my boring four to six hour shifts, I would draw paisleys, skulls, lightening bolts and all manner of weird things. Black ink was my main medium, but I also used no. 2 Pencil, blue ink, felt pens, crayons, colored pencils, you name it. I drew in a tight, pinched style, not wasting a square millimeter of space. Ultimately I was fired for behavior unbecoming a fund-raiser for the Grand Old Party; however, in the meantime, I’d created a masterpiece. Damn! I wish I still had that thing. It would have been worth a fortune as low-brow art. It had eyeballs popping out of sockets of pox-faced ghouls and everything! It was a winner.

Now I seek to bring art to the world using my cameras and Photoshop, which is like a “second camera,” to quote Jeff Alu, one of my heroes in the Southern California art scene. This has been a random thought of Russell Smith

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

