Who gives a damn about Oprah?

Courtesy of Chizmizan with Chuva, (chuvachienes.com)

Oprah does what Oprah does best

She just loves to cry. Talk about a potential drinking game! Wait for Oprah to cry, then get as drunk as you feel like even if you end up puking your guts up before the end of the evening. I remember when she came out in the Eighties. She was fat, fat was where it’s at, and Oprah was a big sensation. She gave birth to daytime t.v. as, not just some hangout for housewives with mild drinking problems, but rather as a force for social change. Look at her book club, for instance. In the interest of full-disclosure, I don’t think I ever read a book on Oprah’s book club list. Sorry. I like to read history books about medieval England.I even listen to books on English history. For instance, I belong to Audiobook.com and I’m listening to some guy read Winston Churchill’s History of the English Speaking People, Part I. I may get Part II soon. I am nearly done with the book. Back to Oprah. She endorsed President Obama and told white America that it was okay to have a Black President. Her endorsement probably went more to getting him across that line than anybody else’s.

Butcha know what?

Final episodes always suck! The worst case of that would probably be the final episode of Seinfeld. Who needs an hour of her majesty wallowing in her own glory, crying like she’s bringing it on home to Jebus? Not me. I don’t even believe in Jebus. Do I?

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Audiobooks, Books, Television and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

