Enjoy the silence.

That is the title of a Depeche Mode song. This is my third post and so far, nobody has even looked at it. It doesn’t surprise me. I’ve done little to promote it. I try to post on Hollyblog once a week now. Sometimes I don’t get around to it for a month. It still gets a modest amount of hits now- up to twenty in one day. It’s just such a huge web document with 3 years of constant posting. It’s chock full of videos, photo’s and links. Let’s not forget the indexing. When I switched to WordPress, I began to categorize and tag each post. Whenever someone looks at an old Blogger post, I add tags. This increases the size of my Internet net, so to speak. People conducting searches will be more likely to be directed to my postings, or images and videos in a post.

How beautiful is this photograph?

Enough of this theory business! I’m upset because people have stopped looking at my Beautiful Photographs blog again. I try so hard to find an interesting photograph (of my own taking) that I can post on a daily basis. I send out a link for each post to a mailing list of over fifty people. The best day I’ve had so far was in December with 41 hits. Recently in January I got over 30 hits in one day. Then came the sad decline. Yesterday it was down to five (5) hits! I’m hoping that I’ve just saturated my audience. I will give it a day or two to see if it catches up. December was my best month since August 2010, when I started Beautiful Photographs. I thought that by now, it would be famous, with hundreds of daily hits, and my name fast growing into a household word.

I need to enter another photography contest. Beers-Lambert rejected my six submissions for their show in London called I am Solitary. I’m not surprised. I wanted to start big to prove that I’m not intimidated. I bet some day I’ll go back to Beers-Lambert with an invited show. So there. I’ve got a collection of photographs of cranes that I took around 2007-8. I think they look very romantic. I’d like to get them all matted and made “show ready.” It’s a cool collection. What if someone bought them all? I guess that would be bad in terms of publicity. What if different people bought them all? I’d be sure to get invites after that.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.
This entry was posted in Art, Blogging, Internet and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

